Red Headed Stranger

 —  January 16, 2013

Album Details

Release Date: 1/1/1975
Where to Buy: Amazon- MP3


01. TIme Of The Preacher
02. I Couldn’t Believe It Was True -(Eddy Arnold, Wally Fowler)
03. Time Of The Preacher Theme
04. Medley: Blue Rock Montana/ Red Headed Stranger -(Nelson, Carl Stutz, Edith Lindeman)
05. Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain -(Fred Rose)
06. Red Headed Stranger -(Stutz, Lindeman)
07. Time Of The Preacher Theme
08. Just As I Am
09. Denver
10. O’er The Waves -(Juventino Rosas, arr. Nelson)
11. Down Yonder -(L. Wolfe Gilbert)
12. Can I Sleep In Your Arms -(Hank Cochran)
13. Remember Me -(Scotty Wiseman)
14. Hands On The Wheel -(Bill Callery)
15. Bandera
16. **2000 reissue contains for previously unreleased bonus tracks**
17. Bach Minuet in G -(Arr. by Nelson, writte by JS Bach)
18. I Can’t Help It If I’m Still In Love With You -(H Williams)
19. A Maiden’s Prayer -(B Wills)
20. Bonaparte’s Retreat -(P. King/ R. Stuart)


Red Headed Stranger was a blockbuster among both country music and mainstream audiences, going multi-platinum and making Nelson one of the biggest stars in country. The album’s title would become a lasting nickname for Nelson. The album was ranked #184 on Rolling Stone’s list of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time. It was ranked #1 on CMT’s 40 Greatest Albums in Country Music in 2006.

1975 – Album Peak Position
Billboard Top Country Albums – 1
Billboard Top LPs & Tapes – 28

Singles Peak Position
1975 – Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain – Billboard Hot Country Singles – 1
1975 – Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain – Billboard Hot 100 – 21
1976 – Remember Me – Billboard Hot Country Singles – 2
1976 – Remember Me – Billboard Hot 100 – 67


Producer – Willie Nelson

Willie Nelson – Vocals, guitar
Paul English – drums
Jody Payne – guitars, mandolin
Bee Spears – bass
Bobbie Nelson – piano
Mickey Raphael – harmonica
Bucky Meadows – guitar
Billy English – drums